Visa pathway guide
Alberta Advantage Immigration Program – Graduate Entrepreneur Stream
The Graduate Entrepreneur Stream under the Alberta Advantage Immigration Program allows Alberta to nominate qualified international graduates from Alberta publicly funded post-secondary institutions who establish or operate a business in Alberta to apply for Canadian permanent residence.
Visa details
At a Glance
| Item | Details |
|---|---|
| Visa / Stream Name | AAIP Graduate Entrepreneur Stream |
| Target Outcome | Provincial Nomination for Canadian Permanent Residence |
| Nomination Validity | 6 months |
| Cost (Expression of Interest) | $200 CAD non-refundable |
| Cost (Business Application) | $3,500 CAD non-refundable |
| Other Stream Fees | $150–$250 CAD per service request |
| Eligibility Work Permit | Valid Post-Graduation Work Permit (PGWP) |
| Education Requirement | 2-year post-secondary credential in Alberta |
| Language Requirement | Minimum CLB/NCLC 7 in all abilities |
| Business Ownership | Minimum 34% active ownership in Alberta |
| Business Partners | Canadian citizens or permanent residents only |
| Work Rights | Maintain valid work permit in Canada |
| Study Rights | Not stated in the source |
| Medicare / Health Insurance | Not stated in the source |
| Travel Facility | Not stated in the source |
| Family Inclusion | Spouse/partner and dependants permitted |
| Citizenship Pathway | Via IRCC permanent residence |
Purpose and Overview
The Alberta Advantage Immigration Program (AAIP) Graduate Entrepreneur Stream nominates qualified international graduates of publicly funded Alberta post-secondary institutions who establish or operate an eligible business in Alberta. A provincial nomination allows the candidate to apply to Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada (IRCC) for Canadian permanent residence.
Eligibility Criteria
To qualify for an Expression of Interest (EOI) and nomination, applicants must meet the following baseline requirements:
- Education: Completion of at least 2 years of full-time study resulting in a degree or diploma from an Alberta Advanced Education publicly funded post-secondary institution.
- Work Permit: A valid Post-Graduation Work Permit (PGWP) issued by IRCC at the time of EOI submission.
- Language Proficiency: A minimum score of CLB 7 (English) or NCLC 7 (French) across all 4 bands (reading, writing, listening, speaking). Test results must be less than 2 years old at EOI submission and from an approved testing body:
- CELPIP General Test
- IELTS General Training Test
- PTE Core
- TEF Canada
- TCF Canada
- Business Establishment: Establish a new business or purchase an existing business in Alberta with at least 34% ownership. Any business partners must be Canadian citizens or permanent residents.
- Physical Presence & Management: Must reside in Alberta and actively manage the business on a day-to-day basis as an owner-operator (remote management from another province/country is not permitted).
Established Businesses in Alberta
Graduates who already own and operate a business in Alberta for at least 1 continuous year immediately prior to submitting an EOI do not need to operate the business for an additional year under a Business Performance Agreement. If approved, they receive a nomination certificate directly after Business Application assessment.
Ineligible Applicants
Candidates cannot apply if they:
- Hold an active, unexpired nomination or extension under another AAIP stream.
- Have an active ban from re-applying to AAIP.
- Are subject to an IRCC or CBSA removal order.
- Are refugee claimants or involved in federal appeal/removal processes.
- Lack valid temporary resident status in Canada.
Points Grid and Adaptability Factors
Candidates are scored out of a maximum of 125 points based on their EOI:
| Category | Criteria / Details | Points |
|---|---|---|
| Management / Ownership (Max 15) | • 6 months experience / equivalent<br>• >6 months to 1 year<br>• >1 year | 5<br>10<br>15 |
| Economic Benefit (Max 40) | • Key economic development sector<br>• Business succession<br>• Job creation (Canadian PR/citizens for 6+ mos): 1 job (5 pts), 2 jobs (10 pts), 3+ jobs (15 pts)<br>• Rural location (outside Calgary/Edmonton CMAs) | 15<br>5<br>5–15<br><br>5 |
| Business Investment (Max 20) | • ≤ $25,000<br>• $25,001–$50,000<br>• $50,001–$75,000<br>• ≥ $75,001 | 5<br>10<br>15<br>20 |
| Language Skills (Mandatory, Max 15) | • CLB/NCLC 7 in all 4 bands<br>• CLB/NCLC 8 in all 4 bands<br>• CLB/NCLC 9+ in all 4 bands | 5<br>12<br>15 |
| Alberta Education (Mandatory, Max 10) | • Bachelor's degree or 2-year diploma<br>• 2 or more degrees/diplomas<br>• Master's degree or higher | 5<br>7<br>10 |
| Age (Max 5) | • 21 to 49 years of age | 5 |
| Spouse Adaptability (Max 10) | • ≥1 yr full-time AB work, OR 2-yr AB study, OR CLB/NCLC 5 in all abilities | 10 |
| Alberta Relatives (Max 10) | • Parent, child, or sibling living full-time in Alberta | 10 |
Business Requirements and Ineligible Businesses
Eligible Business Conditions
- Must generate active/earned income from goods/services (no passive income).
- Must maintain a permanent physical commercial/industrial establishment in Alberta.
- Must comply with federal, provincial, and municipal regulations, licensing, and Alberta labour and trade certification standards.
- Franchises: Must provide proof of master franchisor support.
Ineligible Businesses
- Passive investments or immigration-linked schemes under the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act.
- Payday loan, cheque cashing, or used goods trading businesses.
- Real estate development, brokerage, property rental/leasing, and coin-operated businesses (e.g., laundromats).
- Project-based or seasonal operations.
- Home-based businesses, bed-and-breakfasts, or businesses not zoned commercial/industrial.
- Succession businesses owned/operated by a close relative, previously owned by an AAIP entrepreneur nominee within the past 4 years, or that changed ownership within the last 3 years.
- Adult entertainment or businesses bringing the program into disrepute.
Program Fees and Service Charges
All fees must be paid online via credit/debit card within 24 hours of submission and are strictly non-refundable:
| Application / Service Request | Fee (CAD) |
|---|---|
| Expression of Interest (EOI) | $200 |
| Business Application Package | $3,500 |
| Business Performance Agreement Changes | $150 |
| 205(a) Letter of Support for Work Permit | $150 (Waived if requested in writing by IRCC) |
| Nomination Extension Request | $150 |
| Request for Reconsideration | $250 (Refunded only if decision is overturned) |
Step-by-Step Application Process
[Submit Online EOI & Pay $200]
↓
[Selection from Pool & Invitation to Apply]
↓
[Submit Business Application & Qualified Service Provider Reports within 90 Days ($3,500)]
↓
[Assessment & Sign Business Performance Agreement (14-day deadline)]
↓
[Establish & Operate Alberta Business for 12+ Months (Submit Start-up & Progress Reports)]
↓
[Submit Final Report for Nomination]
↓
[Nomination Certificate Issued → Apply to IRCC for Permanent Residence within 6 Months]
Step 1: Expression of Interest (EOI)
- Submit an EOI using an Alberta.ca Account via the AAIP Portal.
- Candidates have 120 days to finalize draft submissions. Pay the $200 fee within 24 hours of submission.
- EOIs remain active in the selection pool for up to 12 months.
Step 2: Business Application Package
- Invited candidates have 90 calendar days to upload required documents and pay the $3,500 fee.
- Mandatory Professional Reports:
- Business Plan Evaluation Report: Must be issued by KPMG LLP or MNP LLP.
- Qualified Service Provider Report (Net Worth/Investment Verification): Issued by Grant Thornton LLP, KPMG LLP, or MNP LLP if requested by AAIP.
Step 3: Business Performance Agreement (BPA)
- Approved candidates receive a legal BPA outlining job creation targets, sector requirements, and operational milestones.
- Applicants must sign and return the BPA within 14 calendar days.
Step 4: Business Operation & Reporting
- Operate the business actively in Alberta for a minimum of 12 months.
- Submit a Start-up Report within 30 days of approval letter issuance.
- Submit a Business Progress Report every 6 months.
Step 5: Final Report for Nomination & Permanent Residence
- Submit the Final Report for Nomination upon satisfying all BPA conditions.
- Upon approval, AAIP issues a Nomination Certificate (valid for 6 months).
- Submit the PR application to the IRCC Centralized Intake Office before the nomination expires.
- Pass IRCC medical, security, and criminal background checks.
Maintaining Status and Work Permit Extensions
Nominees and applicants must maintain lawful temporary resident status in Canada at all times:
- Bridging Open Work Permit (BOWP): Recommended route once IRCC issues an Acknowledgement of Receipt (AOR) and file number.
- AAIP 205(a) Letter of Support: If ineligible for a BOWP, applicants can request a support letter via the portal (processed within 28 days for a $150 fee) to apply for a work permit under IRCC's Employer Portal.
Reconsideration and Appeal Rules
- Deadline: Must be submitted through the AAIP portal within 30 calendar days of a decline letter.
- Grounds: Must demonstrate an administrative or procedural error in applying program criteria.
- Restrictions: Cannot be used to introduce new evidence, request exemptions, or plead humanitarian/compassionate grounds.
- Limit: Only one reconsideration request permitted per decline decision.
Program Contact Information
- Inquiries: entrepreneur.supportservice@gov.ab.ca
- Portal Technical Issues / Payments: Alberta eServices Contact
Start with context
Organize the details that matter.
Make this pathway easier to manage.
Create a private journey to organize documents, tasks, dates, and milestones around this visa.